The Wintercombe Series by Pamela Belle Review

If you are looking for a great historical fiction series packed with intrigue, family issues and a little bit of romance, then I have the series for you. I first discovered the Wintercombe series by Pamela Belle about fifteen years ago. I picked up Wintercombe in a second-hand book store and then later its sequel Herald of Joy. I lost both books in a house move and then spent years trying to find them again. To my delight, I discovered that both books were available as ebooks this year and I bought them immediately. And I also discovered book three A Falling Star and book four Treason’s Gift.

Wintercombe is set during the English civil war in the 17th century and tells the story of its namesake, Wintercombe, a beautiful manor house in Somerset where Puritan Lady Silence St Barbe lives with her two step-children Rachael and Nathaniel and three children Tabitha, Deb and William. Her Parliamentarian husband is off fighting in the war. Silence is the perfect Puritan wife to her much older husband and lives a quiet, godly existence.

The English Civil war has been raging for two years when a detachment of Cavaliers is sent to garrison at this country house. Not having anywhere to take her children, and not wishing to let her house and beloved gardens be destroyed by the enemy in her absence, Silence elects to stay for the occupation.

Captain Nick Hellier is the second-in-command of the enemy Royalist soldiers and is, at first, not someone Silence is willing to trust. But compared to the brutish Lieutenant-Colonel Ridgeley who is evil incarnate, Captain Hellier is mild mannered. He soon becomes someone Silence can go to for help, despite being an enemy, as he does his best to protect her and the children from Ridgeley’s wrath. Amidst all the turmoil of war, Silence begins to break free from the constraints around her and allow music, laughter and love into her life in the form of Nick.

This book is drenched in historical detail and takes a long time to build to any sort of romance between the two main characters, but I found it very enjoyable to read. All the characters, especially the children, are so richly drawn that you find yourself really caring for the St Barbe family as well as the house itself. There is drama, plot twists and a lot to love about this first book in the series.

Book two, Herald of Joy also focuses on Silence and Nick. Book three A Falling Star delves into the life and adventures of Nat St Barbe’s son Alex and book four Treason’s Gift finishes off the story of the St Barbe family.

Verdict: I highly recommend this series to all historical fiction buffs!

For further details about each book and to purchase them, see below:

Book One: Wintercombe

Book Two: Herald of Joy

Book Three: A Falling Star

Book Four: Treason’s Gift

What’s a book series that you discovered and loved?